What is Segment 2?
Segment 2 is a three-day class consisting of six hours of classroom instruction. This is the second step for teens who wish to obtain a driver’s license before they turn 18 years old. Both Segment 1 and Segment 2 are required by the State of Michigan in order to receive a driver’s license before a person turns 18 years old.
How long does it take to obtain a driver’s license?
The entire process takes a minimum of six to seven months depending on when the student receives their Graduated Level One license and how quickly the student and the family wish to progress. Click here to view a guide that breaks down the steps to obtaining a license in Michigan.
What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover. If you need to make other payment arrangements, feel free to call our corporate office. We also accept payment from government organizations as well. If you do not have one of these cards available to you, we also accept pre-paid Visa, Discover, and MasterCard.
When should I pay? Is there a deposit required?
All services must be paid in full at the time of registration. If you do not make a payment, registration will not succeed and your spot will not be held in the class. If you have already paid for Segment 2 when you signed up for Segment 1 as a combo, please call our office and a representative can get you signed up. If you're unsure if you paid for the combo, give us a call or send us an email and we can check that for you!
What if there is a snow day?
If your school district has announced a snow day, All Star’s classes (which include driving times) at the respective location will be canceled as well. Please keep this in mind if you are attending a classroom location other than your own school, or a community location. If the driving instructor decides that the road conditions are good enough to drive in later that day, they might call you to let you know drives will still take place as scheduled. Please make sure your instructors have all of your updated contact information.
Do students drive in Segment 2?
There is no driving portion in Segment 2. Some locations do have availability for "Silver" and "Gold" packages. These packages offer one and two drives for the student, respectively. These drives are treated as private lessons, and are not guaranteed to be completed during the duration of the Segment 2 class, as state-mandated drives are given priority.
I took Segment 1 through a different company, can I still take Segment 2 through All Star?
Absolutely! As long as you meet the requirements explained directly below, you can take the course with us :)
What are the requirements and documents I need to take Segment 2?
You must have held your Level 1 license for at least 3 months, and have had 30 hours of driving practice (with at least 2 hours at night) logged in either an app or on paper.
You will need to upload these documents to your online account 7 days before the class, along with your Segment 2 contract. This contract is emailed to your parent first, and after the parent completes their portion it is forwarded to the student to complete theirs. A copy of the document can also be found on the Michigan homepage on our website so that you can upload it directly to your account.
What is a license issue date?
The license issue date is a series of 8 numbers that's found at the top of the card. The issue date is explicitly labeled on the new Level 1 license, the physical card and the receipt from the Secretary of State.
Do you accommodate learning or physically disabled students?
All Star strives to work with students of all learning and physical levels, however, there are certain limits to what we are able to do. For further information, please contact the main office at 734-665-7374.
Do you offer any discounts at this time?
We do not currently have any discounts running for Segment 2.
Do you have any payment plans available?
We do not have any payment plans available for Segment 2. Payment must be made up-front during registration.
If classes are virtual, why is there a limit on the number of students?
The State still prohibits us from having more than a set number of students in the class, even if the class is virtual.
Do parents need to attend the first day of class?
It is not necessary for parents to attend any days of Segment 2. They are more than welcome to sit in, though.
What happens if a student misses a class?
Due to the brief length of Segment 2, students are not allowed to miss any classroom sessions. If the student misses any days of the class (this includes tardiness and leaving early!), they will have to fully retake the class.
Do you have classroom numbers?
If you're taking an in-person class, the classroom number should be emailed to you with information on the class in the days leading up to it.
I am over 18 years old. Can I still take Segment Two?
Of course you can! You'll just have to contact our office after registering for the Adult Contract. In addition, you will not receive a certificate for completing the course as it will be for educational purposes only.
Does my Segment 2 Certificate of Completion expire?
The expiration date of the Segment 2 certificate is the student’s 18th birthday. This is the same for their Level 1 license. They have until that date to take a road test. Otherwise, their permit will need to be renewed at the Secretary of State.
Help! I’ve lost my Segment Two certificate! What can I do?
No worries! Your certificate was emailed to you, so you should be able to go back and find that email again. Need it emailed again or sent to a new email? No problem! Give our office a call and we can resend it.
If your certificate was a paper copy issued before May of 2021, certificates can be reissued for a $30 fee. Please contact the office immediately to have these certificates reissued. It takes two business days to reissue a certificate, so be sure to allow enough time if you need yours by a specific day. When contacting the office please have your full name, date of birth, class location and the date that you completed the class ready. We can only reissue certificates for classes that you took with All Star, not with other companies.
If I don’t attend school in that location, can I still take classes there?
Yes, there are no restrictions that don’t allow students from one school district to attend classes in another area. However, keep in mind that for in-person classes you must be willing to drive to that location to attend, and for virtual classes, you must still drive there for the in-person test.
Can I schedule a road test at the same time that I schedule Segment 2?
You may, but we do not recommend this. Instances can occur, such as delays in your certificate (they can take 5-10 business days to be emailed from the last date of class), losing your certificate, etc., that may prevent you from attending your pre-scheduled road test. We recommend waiting until you have your certificate to schedule your road test.
How long do I have to wait before I can schedule a road test? What’s the next step?
You can schedule your road test when you have your Segment 2 certificate, have driven with your Level 1 license for at least six months and have completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving, including 10 hours at night.
I am 15 years old. Can I still take my road test?
Yes, as long as you meet the requirements, you can take a road test at 15. However, you will not be able to receive your driver’s license until you are 16 years old. You can visit the Secretary of State at that time.
What are the requirements for obtaining an original Driver’s License or personal identification card?
What is the ASDE Discipline Policy?
Any student violating the rules and regulations as contained in this policy will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action and possible expulsion from the class. No refunds are granted due to disciplinary action that prevents a student from completing an All Star Driver Education course.
Prohibited acts include, but are not limited to:
- Teasing, insulting, name-calling, swearing, taunting, ridiculing, humiliating, threatening, pushing, shoving, grabbing, spitting, stealing, extortion, fighting, kicking, punching, assault, cheating, forgery
- Gang-related gestures
- Mean or rude gestures toward peers, instructors or employees
- Spreading rumors or behavior that would hurt others' feelings
- Sexual, racial or ethnic harassment
- Using cell phones during instruction
- Destruction of property belonging to All Star Driver Education or the facility in which classes are being held.
All Star Driver Education will expel any students in violation of State Laws and/or Local Ordinances, which include, but are not limited to:
- Abuse of fire alarms and safety equipment
- Bomb threats
- Lighting of fires, burning or attempting to burn any property belonging to All Star Driver Education, the facility in which classes are being held, property belonging to persons employed by All Star Driver Education, attending the course or the employees of the facility in which classes are being held
- Possession, use of or threatening to use dangerous weapons such as, but not limited to, fire arms, knives, iron bars and brass knuckles
- Possession, use, or threatening the use of any weapon or dangerous object capable of inflicting bodily harm, including but not limited to: chains, knives, fireworks, explosives, smoke bombs, and toy weapons resembling any of the above.
I never went down to the Secretary of State to get my Graduated Level 1 license. Can’t I just show my Segment 1 Certificate of Completion in order to take Segment 2?
Unfortunately no, you must have gone to the Secretary of State and received your Graduated Level 1 Learners License at least three consecutive months before starting Segment 2. You will not be allowed to take Segment 2 until then. The other requirement for taking Segment 2 is that you must have completed at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, with two hours of night driving. It is very important that you go to the Secretary of State immediately after receiving your Segment 1 Certificate of Completion, so you can get your Graduated Level 1 license as soon as possible. Not doing so could delay the process of getting your license.
What if I don’t pass my written test on the first try?
Students are allowed three attempts at the final exam. If you don’t pass your first test you will have two more attempts. To schedule a make-up test, give us a call and we can either schedule you for an appointment at our corporate office (offered Monday–Friday from 9:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m.), or add you to the make-up day waiting list to be contacted when the next test for your location is scheduled.
Can you email me my certificate instead?
Yes! As of May 2021, we now email certificates, and no physical copies are sent. You are now responsible for printing out the certificate and bringing that printed copy to the Secretary of State. If you're requesting a reissue of a physical copy of a certificate from before May 2021, please see above for losing a certificate.
What is the cancellation/refund policy for the Segment 2 course?
Refunds will be processed in full if a class/service is canceled by ASDE. Refunds can take 7-10 business days and will be put back onto the card you paid with. No refund will be issued if the student is expelled due to disciplinary reasons. In addition, if a student is removed due to missing class they will not be eligible for a refund.