What is Segment 1?
Segment 1 refers to the first phase of Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) process for students under the age of 18. The program is comprised of 24 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction and 4 hours of observation as a passenger. Successful completion of Segment 1 is a prerequisite for moving on to Segment 2.
At what age can I start, and do I have to take Segment 1?
New drivers can start Segment 1 at the age of 14 years and 8 months. Teens under the age of 18 are required to complete a Driver Education program to obtain a driver license.
How long does it take to complete the Segment 1 program?
The classroom phase of training typically spans 3-4 weeks; class schedules vary based on location. Schedules, which include dates and times, can be viewed on the All Star website. The state of Michigan allows 3 weeks from the last scheduled classroom session, to compete behind the wheel training and makeup classes.
Do I have to pass a test or exam? What are the requirements to pass?
Students enrolled in Segment 1 must attend 24 hours of classroom instruction. There is a final written exam which requires a minimum score of 56 correct answers out of 80 questions. Three attempts are permitted to pass the final written exam. In addition to the classroom phase of training, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction and 4 hours of observation must be completed. Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing – Guide for Parents provides additional details for parents.
Are the All Star programs at high schools open to anyone?
Yes, the All Star programs held at high schools are open to anyone as long as you are able to travel to the high school location to attend classes. Virtual students will take the final written exam at the location which they select at the time of enrollment.
How do I obtain my Segment 1 Certificate of Completion?
All classroom and behind-the-wheel training must be successfully completed to receive a Segment 1 Certificate of Completion. Your Segment 1 Certificate of Completion will be uploaded to the student portal and emailed to you within a maximum of 10 business days from the time you achieve completion, whether it is from a classroom session or behind the wheel session.
How long does it take to obtain a Level 1 License?
Students who successfully complete Segment 1 can apply for the Level 1 License at the age of 14 years and 9 months of age. In general, a student is eligible for a Level 1 License no less than 6 weeks after starting the Segment 1 program. The Level 1 License is the initial stage of a three-phase licensing process, which includes the Level 2 License and Full, unrestricted License (Level 3 License). You can find additional guidelines by referring to the Michigan Parent Checklist.
Will I get my license after I complete Segment 1?
All Star will issue a Segment 1 Certificate of Completion to students who successfully complete Segment 1. The Segment 1 Certificate of Completion is not a license. The responsibility of applying for the Michigan Level 1 License rests with the student and parent or guardian.
What do I need to bring to the first day of Segment 1 class? Do I need to provide documentation?
Soon after the time of enrollment, students must upload necessary paperwork required by the state of Michigan, as we need to verify the documentation. If the documents are not uploaded to the All Star Student Portal on time, it will be necessary to remove you from the class. Please be aware that any document/s you upload will remain in a pending status until they undergo review and approval, a process that may require up to 3 business days. The student’s birth certificate and signed contract must be uploaded to begin Segment 1.
What is included in the cost for Segment 1?
Segment 1 tuition includes classroom instruction, activities, workbook, behind the wheel instruction and the required observation which are conducted in an approved All Star training vehicle. The Segment 2 program and Road Test are programs which must be purchased separately.
How and when do the students schedule their behind the wheel training?
After Day 1 of class, students will be granted access to schedule their behind the wheel training through the student portal. During the time of enrollment, the student credentials are emailed to the provided email address.
How many hours of behind the wheel training do students need?
The minimum requirement is 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction along with observation. All Star will provide 6 two-hour sessions which will include driving and observation. On each lesson the student will drive for one hour and observe another student driver for one hour. All Star provides a range of driving lesson days and times to ensure students are exposed to diverse traffic and driving environments.
What happens if a student misses a classroom session?
The expectation is that you make every effort to attend all classes without any absences. In the event of any missed classes, the student will be required to attend the makeup classes provided to make up for missed sessions. If a student misses a second or third day of class, there will be a charge of $30 to reschedule the missed sessions. If a student misses a fourth day of class, they will be required to repay half the cost of the program to restart Segment 1.
What happens if I miss a behind the wheel lesson?
If a student does not show up for a behind the wheel lesson, or if a student is more than 10 minutes late for a behind the wheel lesson, they will be subject to a $30 rescheduling fee. It is important to make every effort to arrive on time for all scheduled training.
What if I have to cancel a behind the wheel lesson?
Behind the wheel training can only be cancelled through the student portal. To cancel a behind the wheel lesson without incurring a $30 late cancellation fee, a minimum 48-hour notice must be provided.
What if we have a snow day or inclement weather, will I still have my driving lesson?
If the school district where you are taking Driver Education has announced a snow day, All Star’s classes and behind the wheel lessons will also be cancelled. Instructors have the option to complete behind the wheel training if conditions become safe on a snow day. The instructor will contact the student/parent to discuss this option.
Are students allowed to drive outside of the State of Michigan with their Graduated Level 1 License?
To determine if another state will recognize Michigan’s Level 1 Learner’s License, you will need to contact the licensing agency in that state for verification.
What do I do if I lose my Segment 1 Certificate of Completion?
If classes are virtual, why is there a limit on the number of students?
Class size is regulated by the State of Michigan.
What if I do not have an original birth certificate?
If you do not have your original birth certificate, a current passport or state identification card can serve as an acceptable alternative. The student will need to upload these documents to the student portal
I am over 18 years old. Can I still take Segment 1?
While adults are able to take a Segment 1 class, it is up to the driver education company if they want to offer that option. All Star company does not currently allow that option. Individuals who are 18 years old or older have the option to enroll in All Star’s online “All State” class to learn about the rules of the road.
Who can I drive with once I obtain my Level 1 License?
While under the age of 18, teens driving on their Level 1 License are required to operate a vehicle with a licensed adult driver, aged 21 or older, or a licensed legal parent/guardian.
Where do I locate the license number, issue date and expiration date on my Level 1 License?
The license number will be in red and start with the first letter of your last name. Under the license number is the student’s date of birth (DOB), license date of issue (ISS), and license expiration date (EXP). Below is an example provided by the state of Michigan.
What if I drop out or want a refund for the program?
No refunds are issued after the first day of class. All other approved refunds are subject to a $5 processing fee, can take up to 10 business days, are credited back to the card on which they were purchased and are issued only to the person who paid for the program. A full refund will be issued if All Star must cancel your course/program and cannot provide an acceptable alternative.
*No refund is due to students who have been expelled from an All Star program.
*There is a $30 return check fee for all returned checks.
What is the All Star Driver Education Disciplinary Policy?
Any student violating the rules and regulations as contained in this policy will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action up to and including expulsion from the program with no refund. No refund will be issued due to disciplinary action that prevents a student from completing an All Star Driver Education course.
Prohibited acts include, but are not limited to:
Teasing, insulting, name-calling, mean or rude gestures toward peers, instructors or employees, spreading rumors or behavior that would hurt other’s feelings, swearing, taunting, ridiculing, humiliating, threatening, pushing, shoving, grabbing, spitting, sexual or ethnic harassment, stealing or extortion, fighting, kicking, punching, gang-related gestures, assault, cheating, forgery, using cell phones during instruction–Classroom, Drives & Observation, destruction of property belonging to All Star Driver Education or the facility in which classes are being held.
All Star Driver Education will expel any student who is in violation of State Laws and/or Local Ordinances which include, but are not limited to:
Abuse of fire alarms, safety equipment, bomb threats, lighting of fires or burning or attempting to burn any property belonging to the All Star Driver Education or the facility in which classes are being held or property belonging to persons employed by All Star Driver Education or attending the course, or the employees of the facility in which classes are being held. Possession, use of or threatening to use dangerous weapons such as, but not limited to: firearms, knives, iron bars, or brass knuckles. Possession, use, or threatening the use of any weapon or dangerous object capable of inflicting bodily harm including but not limited to: chains, knives, fireworks, explosives, smoke bombs, and toy weapons resembling any of the above.
What if my question is not answered in this FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)?
If you have additional questions or need more information, you can refer to the contract you agreed to when enrolling, which is accessible on the student portal. If you cannot find the information you need on your contract or in our FAQ’s, please contact All Star. We will do our best to provide a thorough answer based on the details you provide.
Additional resources are available: Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing – Guide for Parent. Teen Driving Parental Tool Kit, What Every Driver Must Know