When can I take Segment 2?
To be eligible for Segment 2, a student must successfully complete Segment 1, hold their Level 1 License for not less than 3 months, complete and document at least 30 of the required 50 hours of behind the wheel practice driving with parent, including two hours of the required 10 hours night driving. Students must record their practice driving on the Supervised Driving Log, or Road Ready app. Schedules, which include dates and times, can be viewed on the All Star website.
What is Segment 2?
Segment 2 is the second phase of classroom instruction which focuses on risk awareness factors for young drivers in the Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing system. It is a six-hour program which spans 3 days and is required for teens under the age of 18 who wish to obtain their Level 2 License.
Do I have to pass a test or exam in Segment 2?
There is a final written exam which requires a minimum score of 14 correct answers out of 20 questions. Three attempts are permitted to pass the final written exam.
What do I need to bring to the first day of Segment 2 class? Do I need to provide documentation?
Soon after the time of enrollment, students must upload necessary paperwork required by the state of Michigan, as we need to verify the documentation. If the documents are not uploaded to the All Star Student Portal on time, it will be necessary to remove you from the class. Please be aware that any document/s you upload will remain in a pending status until they undergo review and approval, a process that may require up to 3 business days. Segment 2 students must upload their 1.) Michigan Supervised Driving Log, Level 1 License and signed contract.
I never obtained my Level 1 License from the Secretary of State. Is my Segment 1 Certificate of Completion an acceptable substitute?
No, the Segment 1 Certificate of Completion is not acceptable. An individual may not attend Segment 2 until they have held their Level 1 License for 3 months. There are no exceptions. Students are encouraged to obtain the Level 1 License immediately after receiving their Segment 1 Certificate of Completion. The Michigan Graduated Driving Licensing Parent Checklist provides additional information about the process.
What happens if I miss a day of the Segment 2 program?
Students are not permitted to miss any classroom sessions in Segment 2. If a student misses any part of Segment 2, including being late or leaving early, they will be required to retake the entire Segment 2 program.
Do I have to take Segment 1 and Segment 2 with the same driving school?
No, you do not have to take Segment 1 and Segment 2 at the same school. If you completed Segment 1 at a driving school other than All Star, you can still complete Segment 2 with All Star.
How long does it take to obtain a driver’s license?
It is important to note that there are three licensing phases for teens under the age of 18 in the state of Michigan. The Level 1 License, Level 2 License and Level 3 License which is a full unrestricted license. The gap between completing Segment 1 and obtaining a Level 3 License must be at least one year. You can find additional guidelines by referring to the Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing Parent Checklist
Is there behind the wheel training in Segment 2?
No, Segment 2 consists of only classroom instruction.
Where do I locate the license number, issue date and expiration date on my Level 1 License?
The license number will be in red and start with the first letter of your last name. Under the license number is the student’s date of birth (DOB), license date of issue (ISS), and license expiration date (EXP). Below is an example provided by the state of Michigan.
How do I obtain my Segment 2 Certificate of Completion?
All classroom instruction must be successfully completed to receive a Segment 2 Certificate of Completion. Your Segment 2 Certificate of Completion will be uploaded to the student portal and emailed to you within a maximum of 10 business days from the time you achieve completion.
What if we have a snow day or inclement weather?
If the school district where you are taking Driver Education has announced a snow day, All Star’s classes and behind the wheel lessons will also be cancelled.
Does my Segment 2 Certificate of Completion have an expiration date?
The expiration date of the Segment 2 Certificate of Completion coincides with the student’s 18th birthday, which is also the same expiration date for their Level 1 license. They must complete their road test before this expiration date.
What do I do if I lose my Segment 2 Certificate of Completion?
Are the All Star programs at high schools open to anyone?
Yes, the All Star programs held at high schools are open to anyone as long as you are able to travel to the high school location to attend classes. Virtual students will take the final written exam at the location which they select at the time of enrollment.
Can I enroll in Segment 2 and my Road Test at the same time?
No, students should schedule their road test when they have their Segment 2 Certificate of Completion. There can be unforeseen circumstances, like delays in receiving your certificate, which might hinder you from attending the previously scheduled road test. The school where you take your road test will need your Segment 2 Certificate of Completion information to enroll in a road test.
If classes are virtual, why is there a limit on the number of students?
The State of Michigan regulates class size.
How long do I have to wait to schedule a road test? What’s the next step after I complete Segment 2?
To schedule a road test, students under the age of 18 must hold their Level 1 License for 6 months, have their Segment 2 Certificate of Completion, on the Michigan Supervised Driving Log, log 50 hours of driving (10 hours must be at night) with a licensed adult over the age of 21.
Do I have to wait until I’m 16 years old to take the road test?
Teen students under the age of 18 have the option to take their road test before reaching the age of 16 however, they must wait until they are 16 years old to apply for their driver’s license.
I am over 18 years old. Can I still take Segment 2?
While adults are able to take a Segment 2 class, it is up to the driver education company if they want to offer that option. All Star company does not currently allow that option. Individuals who are 18 years old or older have the option to enroll in All Star’s online “All State” class to learn about the rules of the road.
What if I drop out or want a refund for the program?
No refunds are issued after the first day of class. All other approved refunds are subject to a $5 processing fee, can take up to 10 business days, are credited back to the card on which they were purchased and are issued only to the person who paid for the program. A full refund will be issued if All Star must cancel your course/program and cannot provide an acceptable alternative.
*No refund is due to students who have been expelled from an All Star program.
*There is a $30 return check fee for all returned checks.
What is the All Star Driver Education Disciplinary Policy?
Any student violating the rules and regulations as contained in this policy will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action up to and including expulsion from the program with no refund. No refund will be issued due to disciplinary action that prevents a student from completing an All Star Driver Education course.
Prohibited acts include, but are not limited to:
Teasing, insulting, name-calling, mean or rude gestures toward peers, instructors or employees, spreading rumors or behavior that would hurt other’s feelings, swearing, taunting, ridiculing, humiliating, threatening, pushing, shoving, grabbing, spitting, sexual or ethnic harassment, stealing or extortion, fighting, kicking, punching, gang-related gestures, assault, cheating, forgery, using cell phones during instruction–Classroom, Drives & Observation, destruction of property belonging to All Star Driver Education or the facility in which classes are being held.
All Star Driver Education will expel any student who is in violation of State Laws and/or Local Ordinances which include, but are not limited to:
Abuse of fire alarms, safety equipment, bomb threats, lighting of fires or burning or attempting to burn any property belonging to the All Star Driver Education or the facility in which classes are being held or property belonging to persons employed by All Star Driver Education or attending the course, or the employees of the facility in which classes are being held. Possession, use of or threatening to use dangerous weapons such as, but not limited to: firearms, knives, iron bars, or brass knuckles. Possession, use, or threatening the use of any weapon or dangerous object capable of inflicting bodily harm including but not limited to: chains, knives, fireworks, explosives, smoke bombs, and toy weapons resembling any of the above.
What if my question is not answered in this FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)?
If you have additional questions or need more information, you can refer to the contract you agreed to when enrolling, which is accessible on the student portal. If you cannot find the information you need on your contract or in our FAQ’s, please contact All Star. We will do our best to provide a thorough answer based on the details you provide.
Additional resources are available: Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing – Guide for Parent. Teen Driving Parental Tool Kit, What Every Driver Must Know