What is the initial step to begin the Texas Parent-Taught Driver Education Program?
You must request state approval to participate in Parent-Taught Driver Education by completing an application. Once you have been approved, you will receive a Parent Taught Driver Ed Program Guide which includes the forms and information you need. The initial step prior to enrolling with All Star is to verify both parent and student eligibility for the program. This step must be completed prior to enrolling with All Star. The state’s website allows you to check the status of your request for the Parent-Taught Driver Education Program Guide.
Is there more information about getting started with Parent-Taught Driver Education?
The parent taught program is complex and requires parents to work with multiple entities. The Parent-Taught Driver Education course consists of a minimum of 32 hours of classroom instruction, 7 hours of in-car observation, 7 hours of behind the wheel supervised instruction, and 30 additional hours of behind the wheel instruction. Before beginning a parent taught course, thoroughly read all webpages to avoid unnecessary costs, delays, or invalidated training hours.
What is the age requirement to start the All Star state approved Parent-Taught Driver Education program?
Texas Parent-Taught Driver Education is for students who live in the state who are age 14 to 17. If you’re 18 or older, you can take Texas Online Adult Driver Education; 6-hour driving course for adults.
What does the Texas Parent-Taught program include?
- The program consists of 32 hours of online instruction which is required by the state to be eligible for the road test.
- As part of the course, you have the option to take the Class C Exam (written knowledge test) within the program rather than at the DPS. The knowledge test will be waived if it was completed during the Driver Education course. This must be completed after completing Module 2 and must be completed prior to taking the final exam.
- A road test is required to be eligible for your license.
What is the Class C exam?
It is equivalent to the permit test taken through the DPS when applying for your Learner’s License. It is a prerequisite to be completed at any time before receiving your Certificate of Enrollment.
Before a parent begins behind the wheel instruction with their student:
- Request a Parent-Taught Driver Education Program Guide from the Texas Dept. of Licensing and Regulation.
- Once you receive this program guide from the Texas Dept. of Licensing and Regulation, the student will be enrolled in the PTDE program with Texas.
- You can apply for instructor authorization online or by mail.
- If you are unable to apply online, you can use the paper form (PDF) to apply by mail.
- After you complete the application, you’ll receive an email link with additional information.
- You are now ready to begin teaching your student
When can the student start behind the wheel instruction with a parent?
- Upon completing Module 2 and the Class C Exam we will mail you your Enrollment Certificate.
- Upon obtaining the Certificate of Enrollment, you can visit the DPS to apply for your learner’s license. Once obtained, you can begin your driving sessions with a parent or guardian while concurrently progressing through your online course.
Are there time restrictions or due dates?
Students are permitted to complete two hours of online learning each day, and they have a total of 180 days from the initiation of the program to successfully complete it. Students can log one hour of the required behind the wheel instruction per day. Students are allowed a maximum of three attempts to pass the final exam before being required to restart the program.
When will my Final Certificate of Completion be issued?
Certificates of Completion are mailed to the address on file no more than 10 days after completion. To obtain a Final Certificate of Completion, the student must successfully complete the online program, pass the final exam with a minimum of 70%, and submit the required In-Car Observation & Behind the Wheel Instruction log and Behind the Wheel Practice log to: [email protected].
What do I do if my certificate is lost, damaged or incorrect?
Replacement certificates must be requested by phone at a cost of $30 each. Please call 734.665.7374.
What if I drop out or want a refund for the program?
No refunds are issued after the start of class. All other approved refunds are subject to a $5 processing fee, can take up to 10 business days, are credited back to the card on which they were purchased and are issued only to the person who paid for the program. A full refund will be issued if All Star must cancel your course/program and cannot provide an acceptable alternative.
*No refund is due to students who have been expelled from an All Star program.
*There is a $30 return check fee for all returned checks.
What if my question is not addressed in this FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) section?
If you have additional questions or need more information, you can refer to the contract you agreed to when enrolling, which is accessible on the student portal. If you cannot find the information you need on your contract or in our FAQ’s, please contact All Star. We will do our best to provide a thorough answer based on the details you provide.
Choosing a Driver Education Program