Frequently Asked Questions
Georgia Driver Education
Can I complete driver education a number of ways?
Yes you can complete it by performing any of the programs below, which we offer here at All Star:
Private School (30 hrs.) classroom (virtual or instructor) and (6 hrs.) private behind the wheel training (students also need an additional 40 hrs. of supervised driving experience).
Private School (30 hrs.) classroom (virtual or instructor) and parent taught behind the wheel.
Virtual (30 hrs.) classroom and (6 hrs.) private behind the wheel training.
ALL STUDENTS MUST HAVE 6 HOURS OF SUPERVISED DRIVING AT NIGHT.
How do I take the driving test for a Georgia driver’s license?
When you are ready to take the driving test, make an appointment at your local DDS location. You can call 678-413-8400 or 678-413-8500 and select option 3. If you live outside metro-Atlanta but in Georgia, you can call 866-754-3687.
To be eligible for the Georgia driver’s license:
Be at least 16 years old.
Have held a learners permit for a year and a day.
Effective January 1st, 2007, 16-year-olds must be in compliance with Joshua’s Law. This means that, if you are under 17, you must present a Certificate of Completion of driver’s education for 30 hours of classroom instruction (or online instruction) and 6 hours of in-car driving lessons.
Submit your Social Security number.
If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign an affidavit that the applicant has completed at least 40 hours of on-the-road driving experience (6 hours of which was at night) with a parent or guardian. The 40-hour requirement is in addition to the driving completed with an instructor during an approved All Star Driver Education class (if under 17).
At the time of the road test examination, a parent or legal guardian with a Georgia Driver’s License or ID Card will have to sign for you. The legal guardian must have a certified guardianship paper from court or adoption papers with an embossed court seal.
A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from the local Board of Education if enrolled in an approved home school program.
You must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card.
Applicant will be required to pass a vision and a driving test.
The vehicle the driver is testing in must be properly insured, registered, have a valid tag, and must pass a safety inspection. You will be asked to show a valid insurance card. You may not take the test in a rental car. Once you pass your road test, you’ll be issued a Class D license, which is a provisional license. The Class D license has the following restrictions:
No driving between 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m.
During the first six months following issuance, only immediate family members may ride in the vehicle.
During the second six months following issuance, only one unrelated passenger under 21 years of age may ride in the vehicle.
After the first and second six-month periods, only three unrelated passengers under 21 years of age may ride in the vehicle.
To upgrade from a Class D license to a Class C license, a Class D license holder must be free from any convictions of major traffic violations that result in the mandatory suspension of the license for 12 months preceding the application.
How will my insurance rates upon adding a new driver?
Currently, parents are given automobile insurance discounts if their children complete formal driver education. If this bill passes, not only will home-schooled parents pay more for automobile insurance, the danger associated with less experienced drivers can raise insurance rates for all drivers.
What if I need a reissue of my DDS Certificate of Attendance?
By contacting the instructor, you can obtain another certificate for no charge.
What if I want to have a refund?
As long as you have not attended the class we can refund, more information on this in your contract. To request for a refund you will need to contact our corporate office Monday through Friday 8am to 6pm.
NOTE: All refunds are subject to a $5.00 processing fee. Once requested, it can take 7-10 business days to be processed back to the card used to make the payment. If your card used for payment has been replaced, lost, or stolen you will need to let us know at the time of requesting your refund. We CANNOT send a refund to someone other than the person who made the payment.
What if I don’t pass my written test at the end?
If you have failed your first attempt at written exam, you have 7 days to set a date with the instructor to retake it.
What if can’t make a class date or time, how do I schedule make ups?
There are makeup days built into the classes. If for some reason you miss more than a few, you can come to the next session the instructor is having.
How long does it take for me to complete this course?
Fall and Winter Sessions are 3 weeks of classroom work (4days/week-2.5 hours per day) then Driving times – 6 hours/Student. Summer Session are 7.5 days, 4 hours per day, then Driving times.
Do you offer any payment plans?
Yes, we can offer a payment Plan if needed – half is due at the beginning of class, and the full payment is due before the driving, and issue of the certificate.
Please feel free to ask any other questions via email directly to our online division at firstname.lastname@example.org, or you may call our corporate office. We are open Monday thru Friday from 8:00 am until 6:00 pm EST.