As a minor, you will need to go to the Ohio BMV at least twice before receiving your probationary license. First, when you apply for your Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) and again when you take your road test. Here is what you will need to bring to the Ohio BMV when you apply for your TIPIC and when you take your driving test.
What do I need to bring to the Ohio BMV when I apply for my TIPIC?
When you turn 15 years and six months old and have completed the state-required 24 hours of classroom or online instruction, you are eligible for your TIPIC. This card is needed to complete the behind-the-wheel training required by the state. To obtain your TIPIC, you must go to the BMV and pass a knowledge test and a vision screening. Once you pass, you will receive your permit on the spot.
Here is what you should bring to the Ohio BMV when you apply for your TIPIC:
- Proof of identity, date of birth, Social Security number (if applicable), Ohio residency and U.S. citizenship or legal presence
- Payment for the $23.50 permit fee
- Parent or guardian signature
Click here for information on the knowledge test and TIPIC restrictions
What do I need to bring to the Ohio BMV when I take my road test?
When you turn 16 years old, have had your certificate of completion for at least six months and have completed the 50 Hour Affidavit, it’s time to schedule your road test. The road test is split into two parts; a driving portion and a maneuverability, or skills, portion.
Here is what you should bring to the Ohio BMV when you take your road test:
- Certificate of completion of driver education
- 50 Hour Affidavit (however, this can be obtained and signed at the BMV)
- A parent or guardian to sign for the license
- Payment for the license fee ($25.75 for age 16; $24.50 for age 17)
Click here for information on probationary license restrictions
How to get an Ohio probationary license