Parent Taught Courses are a Great Homeschool Option
If you’re trying to acquire a driver’s license under the age of 18, how is it possible to master the course without an instructor? Texas and Oklahoma both offer a Parent Taught Drivers Education (PTDE) Program you can take from home. This is a convenient option for homeschoolers and students that are currently taking class from home during Covid-19.
How do I get qualified to teach the Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) Program?
To participate in PTDE in Texas and Oklahoma, the parent/guardian must first submit a Parent-Taught Driver Education Affidavit to their DPS. We would need to receive a copy of this document to get you started with your course. The form (photo) can be emailed to [email protected] or faxed to (734) 665-7680.
Texas Parent Taught information about what is required Click Here
Oklahoma Parent Taught information about what is required Click Here
Parent Taught Driver Education in Texas
What do I need to teach the Texas Parent Taught Class?
Before you start teaching our Texas Parent-Taught Online Driver Education course to your student, you must request a Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) program guide from Texas’ Department of Public Safety (DPS). Your student will be enrolled in the PTDE program with Texas once you receive this program guide. It contains information about choosing your PTDE course, teaching the course as required by the state of Texas, and how to apply for a license for your student. To request this program guide you must send an application requesting to teach a PTDE course and a $20.00 check or money order.
What does the Texas Parent Taught Class consist of?
Licensed Providers by the State, such as All Star Driver Education, provides you with the hours required by the state to make you eligible for your road test. After the first Module, you will be able to take the Class C exam online with All Star Driver or at the DPS to get your temporary permit. Passing the Class C Exam will provide you with the form to take and get your temporary permit at the DPS. You will need this to start driving with your parent.
You will still need to sign up and pass your road test separately through the DPS in order to become eligible for your license.
- 7 Hours of “Behind the Wheel” in-car instruction (Taught by Parent)
- 7 Hours of “Observation” driving time
- You can find BOTH of these Drive Logs in your Parent Taught Program Guide from the DPS, but just in case, you can find another copy of the forms here. Keep in mind, we will require a copy of both forms in order to issue the Final Completion Certificate (DE-964) later on.
- 30 Hours of Additional Driving Time (10 of which should be at night)
Once you have passed the online final exam AND the full 44 hours of driving has been completed and log sent to the online school, you can receive the Final Completion Certificate (DE-964). This will be the final certificate that your student will take to the DPS on the day of their scheduled Road Test.
At what age can you take the Texas Parent Taught Class?
The minimum age to start the Texas Parent Taught Class 14 yrs and the maximum age is 18 yrs.
How will I complete the required drive times?
With the Parent Taught online course, students will be eligible to complete their driving hours with a parent/guardian once the student has received their permit from the DPS. There will be 2 forms in your DPS Parent Taught Packet that you will need; a “Behind the Wheel Practice Log” and an “In-Car Observation & Behind the Wheel Instruction Log” that will both need to be filled out once the student begins their driving. Students are only allowed to complete 1 hour per day towards their driving log hours, so make sure to keep these accessible and in decent condition. We will require a copy of both of these forms in order to generate the final completion certificate.
Parent Taught Driver Education in Oklahoma
What do I need to teach the Oklahoma Parent Taught Class?
There are two ways you can take the Oklahoma Parent Taught Course. We have an online curriculum. This option is entirely online. The other option is having the curriculum, videos, quizzes and other learning materials sent to you on the DVD or USB drive. You will take the final exam at home and send it back for grading. Both courses allow you to take the class at your own pace.
To participate in PTDE, the parent/guardian must first submit a Parent-Taught Driver Education Affidavit to the DPS. We would need to receive a copy of this document to get you started with your course. The form can be emailed to [email protected] or faxed to (734) 665-7680.
In Oklahoma, once you have your learner’s permit, you can start your behind-the-wheel training with a licensed driver who is above 21 years old and has been licensed for at least 2 years.
What does the Oklahoma Parent Taught Class consist of?
30 hours of class covering:
- Introduction to All Star
- Your Oklahoma license
- Driving basics
- Know your car
- Basic driving maneuvers
- Traffic laws
- Road signs
At what age can you take the Oklahoma Parent Taught Class?
In Oklahoma, to be eligible for a learners permit, you must be at least 15½ years old. If you are under 16, you must either:
- Be participating in the All Star Driver Education Parent Taught Driver Education Program. This program allows the student to take the classroom portion of drivers education offline at home with computer or online and allows parents to provide the necessary 55 hours of in-car training, OR
- Be currently taking or have completed an approved driver’s education course and be able to show proof of drivers education enrollment signed by your instructor.
- All Star Driver Education is an Oklahoma DPS-approved provider for the Parent-Taught Drivers Education Program. After completing our online driver’s education course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion, needed to ultimately earn your Oklahoma drivers license.
How will I complete the required drive times?
This program lets teens take their drivers education course at home (with DPS-approved providers) and let’s parents provide the 55 hours of behind-the-wheel lessons.The parent guide provided will give additional information.
Additional Homeschool Resources in Oklahoma
More information on the parent taught classes at AS Driver Education can be found here:
Texas Parent-Taught Driver Education
Oklahoma Parent Taught Driver Education