How does Arizona Defensive Driving work?
Those drivers in Arizona who have not taken a defensive driving course within the past 12 months, have an eligible citation, weren’t involved in an accident that resulted in a fatality or serious injury and are over 1 week away from their court date are eligible to take a Defensive Driving course.
The course consists of 15 modules and is required by the state to take the student at least 4 hours to complete. The course will require students to read material, view images and watch videos. Each module will be followed by a few questions.
Throughout the course, you will be asked to provide the answers to the security questions you filled in when you registered. Failure to correctly answer the first one will result in a second question, and failure to answer the second question will lock you out of your course, and you will be required to call the office and verify your identity. Once that is verified, the course will be reset for you and you will have to start at the BEGINNING.
How does payment work?
Course fees are always due when you register for the course. You will not be able to access your course until you have made a payment.
If you register for the course and do not work on any of the material, as long as you are not within the week preceding your court date, you will be issued a refund.
If you register for the course and begin ANY WORK AT ALL, you will not be issued a refund.
ALL refund requests for any service offered are charged a $5 processing fee. No refunds are permitted once a student has actively started the online course. Refunds can take 7-10 business days to go back to your card. Upon failure to complete the course within the required time frame, no refund will be granted, and no certificate will be issued.
NOTE: If your card has been lost, stolen, or expired please let us know upon requesting a refund and we will mail you a check instead. We CANNOT make refunds out to anyone other than the person who made the original payment, no exceptions.
How long do I have to work on the course?
The state allows you to work on the course for up to 4 hours a day. If you hit that 4-hour mark, you will be logged out of your class and have to wait 24 hours before you can log back in. We recommend logging out a few minutes before you hit that time limit. Doing that, you will be able to log in again the next day at any time.
What happens when I finish the course?
Upon completion of the course, we will mail your fees and the Certificate of Completion to your court. You will not be required to take any action.
What is a defensive driving course?
Defensive Driving is aimed to help teach students skills to drive safely, save lives, time and money and prevent accidents despite the road conditions and the actions of other drivers.
Is this course approved by the DMV?
Our Arizona Defensive Driving course has met all of the requirements for licensing by the Arizona MVD. All Star Driver’s Education has been a licensed provider of driver’s education for 50 years and offers approved driver’s education in 10 states as well as online courses in every state.
How long will it take to complete this Arizona Defensive Driving course?
As required by the state, defensive driving is required to last each student 4 hours. If you need to take a break or want to complete the course in smaller time increments, our system will remember where you stopped and you will be able to pick up where you left off last each time you log in.
REMEMBER, you are required by law to complete your course BEFORE the week preceding your court date. If you do not complete the course before the week preceding your court date, the course will be considered incomplete and a refund will not be issued.
What are the computer requirements?
Any computer with internet access will be able to access our online course. We recommend Google Chrome when accessing our courses, as it will provide the best view of our materials, though most any other browser will work just fine. Google Chrome is a free browser, available for download on the Google website. You will not need to purchase or download any software or hardware. Our course is not yet compatible with phones and tablets.
Please feel free to ask any other questions via email directly to our online division at firstname.lastname@example.org, or you may call our corporate office at 734-686-4554.