In many ways Michigan had a banner year in 1955, record production totals in the automobile industry, construction of the Mackinac bridge was well underway, and Michigan was well on its way to a record high in traffic fatalities. This crisis led to then-Governor G. Mennen Williams to call a special session in the fall of 1955 to address the problem. This led to new laws that changed driving and driver education in Michigan.
Driver Education Law
The driver education law laid out that:
- All school districts make a driver education course available to all eligible students
- All students wishing to be licensed before their 18th birthday must satisfactorily complete a high school driver education course.
This made it clear that young drivers both have access to high-quality education, and must complete this course should they want to drive before their 18th birthday.
Speed Limit Law
Michigan also passed the speed law for highways at 65 miles per hour. This was the first speed limit since 1927. The law prevented drivers from going over 65 during the day and 55 miles per hour at night. To enforce this new regulation, Governor Williams also established the first Highway traffic safety center in the country.
Looking back on these changes today, they were only the beginning of instituting rules to make our roads safer for everybody. It is up to high-quality driving schools like All Star Driver Education, to not only give the classroom instruction but to provide one the road training with excellent instructors.